Asia Cup Winners List: A Stunning History of Cricketing Victories.

asia cup winners list

Asia Cup Winners List from 1984 – 2023.


Since its debut in 1984, the Asia Cup, a biannual cricket competition, has been a centre of fierce cricketing action and amazing performances. It has been the scene of some of
the greatest cricketing events over the years and has been crucial in tying Asian cricketing nations together. The teams who have won this important competition will be highlighted in this blog as we travel back in time and examine the Asia Cup winning list.

1984 – India

The Indian cricket team won the inaugural Asia Cup, which was played in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates. India defeated Pakistan in the Asia Cup championship game under the leadership
of Sunil Gavaskar. Laxman Sivaramakrishnan’s skill with spin and Ravi Shastri’s all-around performance were key factors in India’s victory.

1986 – Sri Lanka

When the Asia Cup was held in Sri Lanka itself, Sri Lanka won the competition for the first time. In a thrilling final, the Sri Lankans defeated Pakistan under the captaincy of Duleep Mendis. The best overall performance of the competition was by Aravinda de Silva.

1988 – India

Bangladesh hosted the third iteration of the Asia Cup, and the Indian cricket team won it all once more. Dilip Vengsarkar, India’s captain, was crucial in their victory over Sri Lanka
in their final match.

1990-91 – India

The host nation won their third Asia Cup championship in the 1990–91 season, which was contested in India. India, captained by Mohammad Azharuddin, outperformed Sri Lanka in the
championship match to win the trophy. One of the attractions of this event was the emergence of Sachin Tendulkar as a young star.

1995 – India

India won the 1995 Asia Cup, which was hosted by the United Arab Emirates, to extend their dominance in the competition. India overcame Sri Lanka in the tournament’s grand finale, with
Anil Kumble’s outstanding bowling serving as Azharuddin’s captaincy.

1997 – Sri Lanka

When the Asia Cup was contested there in 1997, Sri Lanka recovered the title. In a closely fought final, Sri Lanka overcame India under the leadership of Arjuna Ranatunga. The talk of the competition was Sanath Jayasuriya’s spectacular batting.

2000 – Pakistan

In the 2000 Asia Cup final, which was held in Dhaka, Bangladesh, Pakistan won their first Asia Cup victory by defeating Sri Lanka. Pakistan’s triumph was made possible by Shoaib Malik’s
all-around effort and Shoaib Akhtar’s spectacular bowling.

2004 – Sri Lanka

In the Sri Lankan-hosted 2004 competition, Sri Lanka once again won the title. Marvan Atapattu led Sri Lanka to victory against India in the championship match. Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara’s batting prowess were on display during the competition.

2008 – Sri Lanka

In 2008, while Pakistan was the host nation, Sri Lanka won their fourth Asia Cup title. In an exciting championship match, Mahela Jayawardene guided the squad to triumph over India.
During this competition, Ajantha Mendis’ mysterious spin was a revelation.

2010 – India

In the 2010 Asia Cup final, which was played in Sri Lanka, India beat Sri Lanka to win it back. India’s victory was propelled by the management of MS Dhoni and support from players
like Virat Kohli and Sachin Tendulkar.

2012 – Pakistan

2012 Asia Cup champion Pakistan won the tournament, which was held in Bangladesh. Pakistan won the final match against Bangladesh under the direction of Misbah-ul-Haq. A major contributing aspect to their success was Shahid Afridi’s all-around talent.

2014 – Sri Lanka

2014 saw the return of the Asia Cup to Bangladesh, as Sri Lanka won their fifth championship. The group won the match by defeating Pakistan behind the leadership of Angelo Mathews.
The devastating Yorkers of Lasith Malinga were stunning to watch.

2016 – India

In 2016, Bangladesh again served as the tournament’s host as India won their sixth Asia Cup championship. Virat Kohli, Ashwin, and Jadeja, two outstanding spinners, and MS Dhoni’s
leadership helped India defeat Bangladesh in the final.

2018 – India

The final of the 2018 Asia Cup was an exciting match between Bangladesh and India. India, led by Rohit Sharma, triumphed, demonstrating their strength in both batting and bowling.

2022 – Sri Lanka

The final of the 2022 Asia Cup was an exciting match between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka held in the United Arab Emirates. It was actually a postponed match in 2020 due to Covid-19. Sri
Lanka was the champion of 2022.

2023 – India

The 2023 Asia Cup final match was held in Colombo between Sri Lanka and India. India won the match very easily by defeating Sri Lanka within 6 overs, 51 runs, and not out.  



The Asia Cup has served as a venue for nail-biting cricket matches that have displayed the skill and passion of Asian cricketing nations. The competition has always provided a stage for
up-and-coming players and priceless moments, despite the fact that India, Sri Lanka, and Pakistan have dominated the winner’s circle. As cricket fans, we eagerly anticipate each Asia Cup, hoping to see more spectacular matches and dramatic battles in the future. 



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

Get The Latest Updates

Subscribe To Our Weekly Newsletter

No spam, notifications only about new products, updates.


On Key

Related Posts

liverpool vs wolves

Liverpool vs Wolves: A Premier League

Liverpool vs wolves Clashes The Premier League never fails to provide thrilling games of football, exciting matches, and dramatic moments. Football fans eagerly anticipate dramatic